Reviewed: Fixer and Fighter: The Life of Hubert de Burgh Earl of Kent by Brian Harwood

https://read.amazon.co.uk/kp/card?asin=B01M4INJH3&preview=newtab&linkCode=kpe&ref_=cm_sw_r_kb_dp_1E1fCbRSHDYWG&hideShare=true Pen and Sword Books: September 2016 Hubert de Burgh rose from obscure beginnings to become one of the most powerful men in England. He loyally served first King John and then the young Henry III and played a crucial role in saving the Plantagenet dynasty when it was at its most vulnerable. During King … Continue reading Reviewed: Fixer and Fighter: The Life of Hubert de Burgh Earl of Kent by Brian Harwood

Advertisements

Reviewed: Dark Queen Rising by Paul Doherty

May, 1471. The Wars of the Roses are reaching their bitter and bloody climax. Edward of York has claimed the English throne, and his supporters are extracting a savage revenge on all who supported the Lancastrian cause. Surrounded by enemies wherever she turns, the position of Margaret Beaufort, Countess of Richmond and mother to Henry … Continue reading Reviewed: Dark Queen Rising by Paul Doherty

Reviewed: Henry V, The Conscience of a King by Malcolm Vale

Reviewed: Henry V, The Conscience of a King by Malcolm Vale

Published 2016, 308 Pages, Available as Hardback and Ebook More than just a single-minded warrior-king, Henry V comes to life in this fresh account as a gifted ruler acutely conscious of spiritual matters and his subjects’ welfare Shakespeare’s centuries-old portrayal of Henry V established the king’s reputation as a warmongering monarch, a perception that has … Continue reading Reviewed: Henry V, The Conscience of a King by Malcolm Vale

Reviewed: Kin of Cain by Matthew Harffy

Reviewed: Kin of Cain by Matthew Harffy

AD 630. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical tale set in the world of The Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Winter grips the land in its icy fist. Terror stalks the hills, moors and marshes of Bernicia. Livestock and men have been found ripped asunder, their bones gnawed, flesh gorged upon. People … Continue reading Reviewed: Kin of Cain by Matthew Harffy

Reviewed: Crown of Blood, The Deadly Inheritance of Lady Jane Grey by Nicola Tallis

Reviewed: Crown of Blood, The Deadly Inheritance of Lady Jane Grey by Nicola Tallis

A significant retelling of the often-misunderstood tale of Lady Jane Grey's journey through her trial and execution—recalling the dangerous plots and web of deadly intrigue in which she became involuntarily tangled, and which ultimately led to a catastrophic conclusion. "Good people, I am come hither to die, and by a law I am condemned to … Continue reading Reviewed: Crown of Blood, The Deadly Inheritance of Lady Jane Grey by Nicola Tallis

Those Terrible Middle Ages by Regine Pernoud

Those Terrible Middle Ages by Regine Pernoud

As she examines the many misconceptions about the "Middle Ages", the renown French historian, Regine Pernoud, gives the reader a refreshingly original perspective on many subjects, both historical (from the Inquisition and witchcraft trials to a comparison of Gothic and Renaissance creative inspiration) as well as eminently modern (from law and the place of women … Continue reading Those Terrible Middle Ages by Regine Pernoud

Reviewed: What Regency Women Did For Us by Rachel Knowles

Reviewed: What Regency Women Did For Us by Rachel Knowles

Regency women inhabited a very different world from the one in which we live today. Considered intellectually inferior to men, they received little education and had very few rights. This book tells the inspirational stories of twelve women, from very different backgrounds, who overcame often huge obstacles to achieve success. These women were pioneers, philanthropists … Continue reading Reviewed: What Regency Women Did For Us by Rachel Knowles

Reviewed: The Sister Queens, Isabel and Katherine de Valois by Mary McGrigor

Reviewed: The Sister Queens, Isabel and Katherine de Valois by Mary McGrigor

Hardcover Edition Published May 1st, 2016, The History Press, 288 Pages Two sisters: born nine years apart to a mad French king during the turbulent years of the Hundred Years War, the bitter series of conflicts that set the House of Plantagenet against the House of Valois. Catherine de Valois, the beautiful young bride of … Continue reading Reviewed: The Sister Queens, Isabel and Katherine de Valois by Mary McGrigor

Reviewed: Blood and Blade by Matthew Harffy

Reviewed: Blood and Blade by Matthew Harffy

Kindle Edition, Published December 1st 2016 by Aria. 318 Pages 635AD. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and third instalment in The Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Oswald is now King of Northumbria. However, his plans for further alliances and conquests are quickly thrown into disarray when his wedding to a … Continue reading Reviewed: Blood and Blade by Matthew Harffy

The Last Kingdom Annotated- Final Two Episodes

The Last Kingdom Annotated- Final Two Episodes

Yes, yes I know. Late again. Things tend to build up, but here it is at last the (possibly) long-awaited conclusion to my series. So without further ado. Episode 7 & 8 The final episodes had to be for me, the most frustrating of all. The attempt at a corny love story, Aethelflead becoming a … Continue reading The Last Kingdom Annotated- Final Two Episodes