Reviewed: Kin of Cain by Matthew Harffy

Reviewed: Kin of Cain by Matthew Harffy

AD 630. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical tale set in the world of The Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Winter grips the land in its icy fist. Terror stalks the hills, moors and marshes of Bernicia. Livestock and men have been found ripped asunder, their bones gnawed, flesh gorged upon. People … Continue reading Reviewed: Kin of Cain by Matthew Harffy

Advertisements
Reviewed: Crown of Blood, The Deadly Inheritance of Lady Jane Grey by Nicola Tallis

Reviewed: Crown of Blood, The Deadly Inheritance of Lady Jane Grey by Nicola Tallis

A significant retelling of the often-misunderstood tale of Lady Jane Grey's journey through her trial and execution—recalling the dangerous plots and web of deadly intrigue in which she became involuntarily tangled, and which ultimately led to a catastrophic conclusion. "Good people, I am come hither to die, and by a law I am condemned to … Continue reading Reviewed: Crown of Blood, The Deadly Inheritance of Lady Jane Grey by Nicola Tallis

Those Terrible Middle Ages by Regine Pernoud

Those Terrible Middle Ages by Regine Pernoud

As she examines the many misconceptions about the "Middle Ages", the renown French historian, Regine Pernoud, gives the reader a refreshingly original perspective on many subjects, both historical (from the Inquisition and witchcraft trials to a comparison of Gothic and Renaissance creative inspiration) as well as eminently modern (from law and the place of women … Continue reading Those Terrible Middle Ages by Regine Pernoud

Reviewed: What Regency Women Did For Us by Rachel Knowles

Reviewed: What Regency Women Did For Us by Rachel Knowles

Regency women inhabited a very different world from the one in which we live today. Considered intellectually inferior to men, they received little education and had very few rights. This book tells the inspirational stories of twelve women, from very different backgrounds, who overcame often huge obstacles to achieve success. These women were pioneers, philanthropists … Continue reading Reviewed: What Regency Women Did For Us by Rachel Knowles

Reviewed: The Sister Queens, Isabel and Katherine de Valois by Mary McGrigor

Reviewed: The Sister Queens, Isabel and Katherine de Valois by Mary McGrigor

Hardcover Edition Published May 1st, 2016, The History Press, 288 Pages Two sisters: born nine years apart to a mad French king during the turbulent years of the Hundred Years War, the bitter series of conflicts that set the House of Plantagenet against the House of Valois. Catherine de Valois, the beautiful young bride of … Continue reading Reviewed: The Sister Queens, Isabel and Katherine de Valois by Mary McGrigor

Reviewed: Blood and Blade by Matthew Harffy

Reviewed: Blood and Blade by Matthew Harffy

Kindle Edition, Published December 1st 2016 by Aria. 318 Pages 635AD. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and third instalment in The Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Oswald is now King of Northumbria. However, his plans for further alliances and conquests are quickly thrown into disarray when his wedding to a … Continue reading Reviewed: Blood and Blade by Matthew Harffy

The Last Kingdom Annotated- Final Two Episodes

The Last Kingdom Annotated- Final Two Episodes

Yes, yes I know. Late again. Things tend to build up, but here it is at last the (possibly) long-awaited conclusion to my series. So without further ado. Episode 7 & 8 The final episodes had to be for me, the most frustrating of all. The attempt at a corny love story, Aethelflead becoming a … Continue reading The Last Kingdom Annotated- Final Two Episodes

Release Day!

Release Day!

It's out, Aethelflead is on the loose.  People who have pre-ordered should be getting their copies soon (in the UK, US readers have to wait until the 1st August), and an e-book edition should be following shortly for Kindle, Kobo and e-reader users.  For those buying the traditional way, The Warrior Queen is now available … Continue reading Release Day!

The Last Kingdom Annotated: Episode 4-6

The Last Kingdom Annotated: Episode 4-6

I'm continuing my commentary on the second series of The Last Kingdom here. Episode 4: Uhtred gets revenge on his old enemy Kjartjan, who killed his adoptive Viking father and kidnapped his adoptive sister. Lots of fight scenes. Father Beocca, the former childhood Tutor to Uhtred, takes a liking to his long-lost sister. Not much … Continue reading The Last Kingdom Annotated: Episode 4-6

The Last Kingdom Annotated: Episode 1-3

The Last Kingdom Annotated: Episode 1-3

I've decided to write a very brief commentary on Series Two of The Last Kingdom series, with a focus on those aspects which relate to King Alfred the Great and his family, who are of course the subjects of my book. As the question 'Is it accurate?' often comes up in relation to historical Fiction … Continue reading The Last Kingdom Annotated: Episode 1-3